Foundry announces CIO50 NZ Awards

CIO New Zealand is proud to present the CIO50 NZ Awards for 2022, recognising the top 50 senior technology executives who are driving innovation and influencing rapid change across their organisations.

The CIO50 NZ Awards are aligned to Foundry’s global awards program and viewed as a mark of excellence in the CIO community worldwide.

The CIO50 winners are judged on the pillars of innovation and leadership, honouring transformational, inspirational, and enduring CIOs across Aotearoa in a variety of industry sectors and regions.

This year we also present the inaugural Next CIO award, recognising a rising star in the industry who is on the pathway to senior leadership.

We also have new projects categories in 2022, recognising innovative work in Government and Financial Services.

Tonkin + Taylor’s Rehka Kharbanda takes top honours in CIO50

Rekha Kharbanda, Executive Leader – Digital, Tonkin + Taylor

Tonkin + Taylor

The top-ranked technology leader in 2022 is Rekha Kharbanda, Executive Leader – Digital at engineering and environmental consultancy firm Tonkin +Taylor.

Kharbanda has led the organisation’s digital transformation and implemented the innovative Earth Hub. This platform brings in highly variable, highly technical and non-standardised data sources from analogue and third-party datasets into T+T’s data lake and sets the foundation for T + T to be an AI-enabled business.

Earth Hub was used to quickly deliver an integrated and automated emergency disaster response, damage assessment, insurance settlement and recovery solution during the recent Nelson flooding.

Dr. Tim Fisher, Managing Director of T+T Group, says: “Rekha is an absolute rocket; setting a vision and launching Tonkin + Taylor into a digital world. She has piloted that vision with passion and has attracted incredible new talent as well as building strategic allies across the business. She has learnt what works best in our very traditional business and industry, adjusting strategic course to navigate new ways of working and opportunities along the way.”

The top 10 CIO50 NZ awardees

Rekha Kharbanda, Executive Leader – Digital, Tonkin + TaylorDavid Healy, Chief Digital Officer, Ballance Agri-Nutrients LtdAlexis Stewart, Programme Director, CarewayBrian Northern, Group Chief Information Officer, Fulton HoganRebecca Thomas, Chief Information Officer, PWCRoger Thomas, Executive General Manager, Business Technology, Auckland TransportJosh Robb, Chief Technology and Product Officer, Tend HealthNicholas Fourie, Vice President ICT, Fisher & Paykel HealthcareSimon Kennedy, Chief Digital Officer, Foodstuffs North IslandAngela Nash, Chief Information and Technology Officer, NZ Rugby

The top 11- 25 CIO50 NZ awardees

Jo Hilson, Chief Technology Officer, Tourism Holdings LimitedStephen Vidulich, Head of Technology, EnviroNZJoshua Bankers, Executive Director, Digital Technology & Information Management, NZ BloodJason Mangan, Chief Technology Officer, University of AucklandMark Denvir, Director of ICT, Auckland CouncilPeter Kennedy, Chief Digital Officer, Genesis EnergyHamish Rumbold, Chief Digital and Technology Officer, KiwibankThomas Hyde, Chief Digital Officer, BecaMark Leadbetter, IT Director, House of TravelRoxanne Salton, Chief Digital Officer, Southern Cross Health SocietyDanuskha Abeysuriya, Chief Innovation and Technology Officer, Rush DigitalAndrew Goodin, Chief Technology Officer, Classic GroupSymon McHerron, Chief Information Officer, Christchurch City CouncilAndrew Ramsay, General Manager Information Technology, Fisher & PaykelCobus Nel, General Manager Information Services & Technology, Transpower NZ

The top 26-50 (listed alphabetically)

Alistair Vickers, Chief Information Officer/Chief Information Security Officer, Tū Ora Compass HealthAllan Lightbourne, Chief Digital Officer, Tauranga City CouncilAndrew Haddad, Chief Information Officer, Vodafone New ZealandAngela Henderson, General Manager Digital, Kiwi PropertyBill Moses, Chief Digital Officer, Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service CommissionBrian Ferris, Chief Data, Analytics and Technology Officer, Loyalty New ZealandChris Reid, Chief Information Officer, Hallenstein GlassonsCraig Columbus, Chief Information Officer, TR GroupCraig Ward, Chief Technology Officer, Kiwi WealthDavid Scullin, Chief Digital Officer, Zespri InternationalGlen Priest, Head of Digital Services, Livestock Improvement CorporationIain Boyd, Head of ICT, ANZCO FoodsKarl Wright, Group Chief Information Officer and Chief Information Security Officer, DatacomKenny Thein, Chief Information Officer, Restaurant BrandsKevin Rowland, Chief Information Officer, Fliway GroupMarcus Rameke, Head of Information Technology, SVP Nikko Asset ManagementMatt van Deventer, General Manager, Technology and Delivery Manawa EnergyNathan Scott, Chief Technology Officer, ValocityNeville Richardson, Chief Information Officer, Gallagher Group LimitedPaul Natac, Head of IT, Provident InsuranceRichard Wilkinson, Chief Innovation & Digital Officer, Farmlands Co-operative LtdSam Pickles, Chief Technology Officer, RedShieldSteve Alani, Chief Information Officer, UCGSteve James, Head of Technology, Woolworths New ZealandTerri Carajannis, Chief Digital Officer, Harrison Grierson

More information about the accomplishments of this year’s winners can be found at our CIO 50 NZ Awards website.

The inaugural Next CIO winner is Madeleine Richardson

Madeleine Richardson, head of planning and delivery, Contact Energy

Contact Energy

Contact Energy’s head of planning and delivery Madeleine Richardson is the inaugural winner of the Next CIO award, launched as part of the CIO50 2022.

Over the last few years Richardson has taken the ICT planning and delivery function from a small-scale BAU focused delivery team predominantly supporting one business unit, to a large-scale enterprise-wide transformation delivery function, whilst playing a key role in the ICT leadership team as the team transitioned from sitting within the retail business unit back to a full enterprise-wide function.

Madeleine has been with Contact for more than 11 years and was nominated for this award by the company’s CIO Iain Gauld.

Best projects in Government and Financial Services

Auckland Council is this year’s winner in the Government category for Best Projects.

In 2022, Auckland Council’s ICT team designed and delivered an entirely new way of managing local government data whilst driving operational costs down significantly by $12.8 million per annum.

This saw the innovative delivery of a multi-cloud hybrid environment for Auckland Council, reducing annual operating costs whilst creating an adaptive, efficient and effective tech landscape.

This was an entirely unique approach in its fully customised cloud design to create council’s own cloud design, purpose-built system to optimise data and storage while providing modern solutions to business problems and a foundation for the organisation’s digital transformation.

In the Financial Services category, FMG won the award for its Data Centre Exit (DCE) project.

The completion of this project means FMG is now fully cloud, with systems and services being provided from multiple cloud locations. The project makes FMG one of the few, large financial organisations within New Zealand who have completed a full migration of services to the cloud.

One of FMG’s points of differentiation is its mobile workforce, with close to 200 people on the farm providing advice and insurance solutions to clients. The ability of these employees to access data and systems while in the field allows the organisation to improve the service provided to clients.

The DCE project was predominantly resourced and completed using FMG resources, with external support from The Instillery.

CIO 100